The Iowa Catholic Conference (ICC) has released its “Faithful Citizenship for Iowa Catholics” letter for distribution in advance of the 2018 general election. The Catholic Church does not endorse or oppose candidates or political parties. However, it contributes to the political process by encouraging Catholics to take action in the political arena with a properly-formed conscience.

For more information on the social and moral teachings of the Church as they relate to our involvement in political activity, go to the “Faithful Citizenship” link at The ICC has a Facebook page and can be followed on Twitter @iacatholicconf. Resources from the U.S. Catholic bishops are available at

The Iowa Catholic Conference is the public policy agency of the Catholic Church in Iowa. Its Board of Directors includes the Catholic bishops of Iowa and lay people, priests, deacons and religious sisters. The diocesan bishops of Iowa are Archbishop Michael Jackels of Dubuque; Bishop R. Walker Nickless of Sioux City; Bishop Richard Pates of Des Moines, and Bishop Thomas Zinkula of Davenport.

Download bishops’ letter – English

Download bishops’ letter – Spanish