Clutch Free Throws Made at Iowa KofC Championship Finals

March 29th had special significance in 2015. First, it was Palm Sunday. Second, it was Knights of Columbus Founder’s Day, celebrating the legacy of Venerable Servant of God Father Michael J. McGivney and the contributions of Knights since 1882. Finally, it was when Iowa held its 2014-2015 finals for the Knights of Columbus International Free Throw Championship.

For the first time, Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, home of the Iowa High School Athletic Association and Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union basketball championships and the NBA Development League’s Iowa Energy, served as the competition’s venue. The Iowa Knights of Columbus are grateful to the Iowa Energy for their partnership and assistance to bring the competition to Wells Fargo Arena.

Prior to the competition, the Iowa Knights of Columbus recognized Tom Simmons for his nearly two decades of organizing the championships at Clarion-Goldfield High School.

District Deputy Russell Wendel of Clarion, left, and Iowa KofC Youth Director Robert Ukena of West Des Moines, right, congratulate Tom Simmons on receiving his award.

Congratulations to the following place finishers!

9 Year Old Boys

1.  Gavin Butta, Rockwell City         

2.  Brendan Richey, Burlington        

3.  Caden Rubel, Bettendorf           


9 Year Old Girls

1.  Mikayla Langenbers, North Liberty

2.  Emily Naughton, Indianola

3.  McKenna Sievers, Storm Lake

10 Year Old Boys

1.  Josh Thurm, Humboldt                

2   Garrett  Diehl, Osceola                

3.  Bryce Elsbernd, West Union   

10 Year Old Girls

1.  Gianna Klarenbeek, Imwood

2.  Ella O’Neil, Waukon

3.  Delaney Bombei, Solon

11 Year Old Boys

1.  Logan Leerar, Britt                                   

2.  Quinn Fandel, Cedar Rapids        

3.  Colby Dotzler, Boone   


11 Year Old Girls

1.  Ellie Caylor, Forest City

2.  Charlotte Wetjen, Williamsburg

3.  Macy Sievers, Storm Lake

12 Year Old Boys

1.  Jonathan Oltman, Pella                

2.  Clayton Akers, Walnut                 

3.  Dylan Smidt, West Des Moines

12 Year Old Girls

1.  Abbie Schany, Emmetsburg

2.  Breana Bottjen, Primghar

3.  Ellie Roorda, Pella

13 Year Old Boys

1.  Benjamin McKernan, Granger

2.  Abraham Steinbeck, Bellevue

3.  Adam Deitering, Emmetsburg

13 Year Old Girls

1.  Leah Subbert, Audubon

2.  Erin Caylor, Forest City

3.  Shayden Blankenship, Hawarden

14 Year Old Boys

1.  Matthew Clark, Rockwell City

2.  Carter Boothe, Leon

3.  Calvin Carlson, Humboldt

14 Year Old Girls

1.  Jenna Plotzke, Osage

2.  Summer Schutte, Luana

3.  Kassidy Bremer, Redfield

Views: 280


You need to be a member of Iowa Knights of Columbus to add comments!

Register Iowa Knights of Columbus

Support the KofC

Quick Links

Fathers for Good

Android Mobile App

© 2019   Created by Paul Lee.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service