Iowa Knights Congratulate Archbishop Hanus and Welcome Archbishop-designate Jackels

The Iowa Knights of Columbus congratulates Archbishop Jerome G. Hanus, OSB, on his retirement after serving the Archdiocese of Dubuque for nearly 19 years.

Archbishop Hanus is a member of the Benedictine Order and a native of Brainard, Nebraska. He was named archbishop of Dubuque in 1994. Prior to that, he was bishop of St. Cloud, Minnesota, 1987-1994. From 1984-1987, he was abbot president of Conception Abbey in Missouri. He is also a Fourth Degree Sir Knight of Columbus.


The Iowa Knights of Columbus welcome Archbishop-designate Michael O. Jackels, to Iowa and look forward to his installation on 30 May 2013.

Archbishop-designate Jackels, a native of Rapid City, South Dakota, was born April 13, 1954. He has been bishop of Wichita since 2005. He was ordained a priest for the Diocese of Lincoln, Nebraska, in 1981. He holds a doctorate in spirituality from the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas (The Angelicum) in Rome. He worked in the Vatican Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith from 1997-2005 before being appointed Bishop of Wichita, Kansas. He is also a Fourth Degree Sir Knight of Columbus.

The Archdiocese of Dubuque has 17,403 square miles and includes 30 counties in Iowa. It has a population of 995,357 people, of whom 202,601, or 20 percent, are Catholic.

Views: 101


You need to be a member of Iowa Knights of Columbus to add comments!

Register Iowa Knights of Columbus

Comment by Michael P. Gaspers on April 15, 2013 at 7:40pm

Welcome to our new Archbishop! I know the Knights will stand in solidarity with him.

Support the KofC

Quick Links

Fathers for Good

Android Mobile App

© 2018   Created by Marty Stratton, Strat Exe, Inc..   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service